Third Extraordinary Session of the Intergovernmental Committee (3.EXT.COM)

The Committee convened its third extraordinary session on 16 June 2008 at UNESCO headquarters to receive the recommendations of the subsidiary body that oversaw an international design competition for the creation of an emblem. The Committee then submitted the designs of seven finalists to the General Assembly (meeting in its second session, 16 to 19 June 2008), which proceeded to select the design by Mr Dragutan Dado Kovačević of Croatia on 19 June 2008. The submissions of Petra Sutila of Slovenia and Michelangelo Camardo of Italy were selected as first and second runner-up, respectively.

Committee Members during the third extraordinary session

إستونيا, الإمارات العربية المتحدة, البرازيل, الجزائر, الجمهورية العربية السورية, السنغال, الصين, المكسيك, الهند, اليابان, بلجيكا, بلغاريا, بوليفيا (دولة - المتعددة القوميات), بيرو, بيلاروس, تركيا, جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى, رومانيا, غابون, فرنسا, فييت نام, مالي, نيجيريا و هنغاريا

Members of the Bureau of the third extraordinary session of the Committee

  • Chairperson: H.E. Mr Faruk Loğoğlu (Turkey)
  • Vice-Chairs: Hungary, India, Mexico and United Arab Emirates
  • Rapporteur: Mr Francisco Javier López Morales (Mexico)


Working documents of the third extraordinary session