First Extraordinary Session of the Intergovernmental Committee (1.EXT.COM)

The Intangible Heritage Messenger N°7 (August 2007)

At its first session in Algiers, 18 and 19 November 2006, the Intergovernmental Committee for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage accepted the generous offer of China to host an extraordinary session of the Committee (Decision 1.COM 8).

This meeting took place in Chengdu, China, from 23 to 27 May 2007.

Committee Members during the first extraordinary session

إستونيا, الإمارات العربية المتحدة, البرازيل, الجزائر, الجمهورية العربية السورية, السنغال, الصين, المكسيك, الهند, اليابان, بلجيكا, بلغاريا, بوليفيا (دولة - المتعددة القوميات), بيرو, بيلاروس, تركيا, جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى, رومانيا, غابون, فرنسا, فييت نام, مالي, نيجيريا و هنغاريا

Members of the Bureau of the first extraordinary session of the Committee

  • Chairperson: H.E. Mr WANG Xuexian (China)
  • Vice-Chairs: Belgium, Bolivia, Estonia and the Syrian Arab Republic
  • Rapporteur: Mr Ousmane BLONDIN DIOP (Senegal)


  • Message from Mr. Koïchiro Matsuura, Director-General of UNESCO: الإنجليزية|الفرنسية
  • H.E. Mr Sun Jiazheng, Minister of Culture, People’s Republic of China: الإنجليزية
  • H.E. Mr Jiang Jufeng, Governor of the Sichuan Province, People’s Republic of China: الإنجليزية
  • H.E. Mr Zhang Xinsheng, Chairman of the Executive Board of UNESCO, Vice Minister of Education, People’s Republic of China: soon available
  • Ms Françoise Rivière, Representative of the Director-General of UNESCO, Assistant Director-General for Culture: الإنجليزية|الفرنسية

Oral report:

Decisions, Summary records and participants

Working documents distributed before the meeting

Comments of States Parties solicited by the Intergovernmental Committee during its first session

During its meeting in Algiers the Committee decided (الإنجليزية|الفرنسية) to invite written comments from the States Parties to the Convention on three issues:

  • An outline for the set of Operational Guidelines that are to be developed by the Committee (Decision 1.COM 5)
  • The question of advisory assistance to the Committee (Decision 1.COM 6)
  • Criteria for inscription on the Lists established by the Convention (Decision 1.COM 7)

The Secretariat received comments from 35 States Parties, presented here in the language in which they were submitted: Algeria, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Ethiopia, France, Gabon, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Morocco, Peru, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Romania, Senegal, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, Viet Nam and Zimbabwe.