Third Session of the Intergovernmental Committee (3.COM) - Istanbul, 4 to 8 November 2008

During its second session held in September 2007, the Intergovernmental Committee for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage accepted the offer from the Republic of Turkey to host the third session of the Committee (Decision 2.COM 15). This third session took place in Istanbul, Turkey, from 4 to 8 November 2008.

The working languages are English and French. In addition, interpretation is be made available in:

  • Arabic, thanks to the Fund of the Project of Prince Sultan bin Abdulaziz for the support of the Arabic language at UNESCO and upon the positive response from the Permanent Delegation of Saudi Arabia to UNESCO,
  • Spanish, thanks to the generous support of the Government of Spain, and
  • Turkish, thanks to the generous support of the Turkish authorities.
Opening of the 3rd Committee meeting
© UNESCO / D.Stehl

Members of the Committee during the third session

إستونيا, إيطاليا, الأردن, الإمارات العربية المتحدة, المكسيك, النيجر, الهند, باراغواي, بيرو, بيلاروس, تركيا, جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى, جمهورية كوريا, زمبابوي, عمان, غابون, فنزويلا (جمهورية - البوليفارية), فييت نام, قبرص, كرواتيا, كوبا, كينيا, مالي و هنغاريا

Elected Members of the Bureau of the third session of the Committee (Decision 2.COM 16)

  • Chairperson: H.E. Mr O. Faruk Loğoğlu (Turkey)
  • Vice-Chairs: Hungary, Mexico, India and the United Arab Emirates
  • Rapporteur: Ms Hortense Nguema Okome (Gabon)


  • H.E. Mr Ertuğrul Günay, Minister of Culture and Tourism of the Republic of Turkey: الإنجليزية|
  • H.E. Mr O. Faruk Loğoğlu, Chairperson of the Intergovernmental Committee: الإنجليزية
  • Mr Chérif Khaznadar , Chairman of the General Assembly of the States Parties to the 2003 Convention: الفرنسية
  • Mr Koichiro Matsuura, Director-General of UNESCO: الإنكليزية

Oral report:

Participants, summary records and decisions

Working documents

Comments from States Parties on draft directives governing the use of the emblem

During an initial discussion of draft directives governing the use of the emblem at its second extraordinary session (ITH/08/2.EXT.COM/CONF.201/13: الإنجليزية|الفرنسية), the Committee encouraged written comments from States Parties. The comments received by the Secretariat concerning the previous draft are presented here in the language and format in which they were submitted: Burkina Faso, Cyprus, Estonia, Japan, Oman, Romania and Turkey.