RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE NAIROBI MEETING ON THE CONVENTION FOR THE SAFEGUARDING OF THE INTANGIBLE CULTURAL HERITAGE

We, the participants in the fourth UNESCO Regional Meeting for the Promotion of the 2003 *Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage* (Nairobi, Kenya from 22-24 November 2004¹) selected by our respective governments but not necessarily committing them through our statements and the following :

- Having considered the text of the 2003 Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage;
- Having taken note of the reports provided by the participants, the clarifications given orally and in written form (Information Kit) by the Secretariat of UNESCO, as well as the interventions of other invited experts and subsequent discussion;
- Acknowledging that the 2003 Convention is the first multilateral international instrument addressing specifically the safeguarding of the ICH binding vis-à-vis its States Parties; and
- > Taking into account the urgency of the safeguarding of the ICH;

recommend to the concerned African UNESCO Member States

- to accelerate the considered and timely ratification of the 2003 Convention and to ensure its appropriate implementation through national legislation;
- to initiate, supplement, adapt or reinforce safeguarding measures in the spirit of the 2003 Convention, including enacting or revising legislation, pending the ratification process as well as later on in case the process has been suspended or not positively completed; and
- to cooperate at the regional level in order to exchange experiences, formulate and adopt where possible common policies and strategies for safeguarding of the ICH in the spirit of the 2003 Convention

recommend to UNESCO

➤ to provide further technical and financial assistance to Member States in the Africa Region to initiate implementation of the 2003 Convention.

¹ The participating countries were : Botswana, Burundi, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe